Tasmanian Gold Swiss Pairs

The Tasmanian Gold Swiss Pairs was held in Hobart on 9th to 11th April 2021 at the Elwick Racecourse. This was the first national face-to-face event of the year. Approximately 120 pairs played in Rookie, Novice, Restricted and Open events across the two and a half days. This included strong representation of players from across Australia.





Sixty two pairs played in the two day Open Swiss Pairs. The winners were Ron Klinger and Avinash Kanetkar. Second place went to George Kozakos and Simon Hinge. Peter Hollands and James Coutts came third. Andrew and Sandra Richman won the Warren Walker Memorial Trophy for the highest placed Tasmanian pair in the Open Swiss Pairs.









Twenty eight pairs played in the Restricted Swiss Pairs. The winners were Tim Legge and Alexander Jones. Full results are here. Sixteen pairs played in the Novice Swiss Pairs. The winners were Marleen Lynch and Rose Rowell.

The TGSP was also a great opportunity for newer players to get a taste of a large event. A two session matchpoint pairs event was run for Rookies (players with fewer than 10 masterpoints). The overall winners were Amy Richardson and Imogen Siberry. Single session welcome matchpoint pairs events were also held for novice, restricted and open categories.







Thanks to Katherine Marsden, the organising committee and all of the volunteers for organising and running a great event. Thanks to Simon Edler for all his efforts as the Chief Tournament Director, including dealing all the boards! Thanks also to Hugh Grosvenor for directing. The ABF event website includes all results for the event.